In the beginning …

We have all wondered, I’m sure, if soul mates really exist.  Is there really someone out there who is meant for me? And if so, why isn’t that person presented to me from the beginning?  I have always wondered this myself.  I have experienced many hardships, and a lot of dead end relationships.  I have, in the past, wondered if the person I was with was “the one.”  But I soon realized, after a few months in, that they weren’t the one I was searching for.  After awhile, I started thinking to myself that maybe the so-called “soul mate” didn’t really exist. Meaning, try to make the best of what you have and deal with it.  Ohhhkay, sure.  It never worked out.

 

My life has been far from perfect.  My mother was the best mom she could be, no complaints there.  Well, maybe a few, but then again, who has the perfect mom?  She was always overprotective, beyond the norm, and I never understood why until I was an adult.  But that story is for another day.   I had a bad habit of choosing the wrong men (and women) in my life when it came to relationships.  Either they were bad for me, or I was totally destructive for them. Mostly it was me.  Growing up, I was very free spirited, and extremely outspoken, especially when it came to the way one was supposed to behave.  Meaning, I should be able to act how I want to, and if somebody didn’t like it, well that was too damn bad.  That didn’t always work too well when it came to relationships.

 

The point is, I have been through a lot of types of relationships throughout my 37 years of life.  From the distant, “I am in a band and I am away a lot so deal with it” type to the “I control every aspect of your life, including breathing and living” type.  And then there were those who lived on my terms.  Those who wanted to be with me to the point where I would point blank tell them that I didn’t want a relationship, and if they chose to pursue this, they would end up being hurt, cheated on, and basically shit on, metaphorically speaking.  But did they listen? NO.  Of course not.

So imagine how I felt the day I met my soul mate.  Yes, I say my soul mate.  Because I have never experienced a moment where I met somebody and felt that feeling where I just knew this was the one I am meant to be with.  In other words, “Where the hell have you been all my life and why weren’t you there sooner?”  Good question.

 

I believe that we all have to have certain experiences in life that will help us grow, and mold us into the people we are meant to become later in life.  Yeah, it does suck, especially when you consider the fact that you had to deal with countless assholes and dope heads and crybabies just to get there. That really, really sucks.  But in a way, it’s all worth it in the end.  It really is.

 

I found mine on Facebook.

 

“What the hell?????”

 

I know that is what most will be thinking.  Yes, it is dangerous and extremely risky to start a relationship online, especially when one is in California and the other is in Tennessee.  What?? That seems even worse, I know.  But just hold on, let me tell you my story before you start ranting.  I know you want to.  I would do the same thing, if it weren’t the fact that it wasn’t ME that it happened to.  I happen to be one of those people that talk a lot of crap, so I know exactly what must be running through your mind.  But wait, there’s more. So, here is the story. You can judge later.  Chances are, you might find yourself getting on Facebook in hopes of finding your own soul mate. I must remind you though, that this is rare.  And I think I just got lucky.  Or maybe that is just how fate works. I don’t know. ANYHOW …

 

It was November 8th, 2012.  I was stuck in a difficult situation.  A shitty situation, actually.  Life really really sucked bad.  I was living at my mom’s house.  And my friend Christina’s.  I really didn’t have a permanent residence at the time.  I was about to move to Denver, Colorado to live with my father and my stepmother, who I hadn’t seen since I was nineteen years old.  My life had taken a total downhill road. I was living in the Bay Area in Northern California, ripe with drugs and alcohol.  (Okay, alcohol was totally my bad, there are liquor stores everywhere there. And so are drugs.  SO really … whatever).  I was in the middle of a separation, on my way to divorce from my first husband, who was a total asshole.  I only say that because anyone going through that would think the same thing.  Obviously.  Anyway, I was totally brokenhearted and all that crap.  I was anxious about moving to Denver, since I hadn’t been there since I was seventeen years old.  So one night I decided to go on Facebook while at my mom’s house… well actually, I was on Facebook 16 hours out of 24 … lol … just like everyone else, working or not haha!! But still…

And a friend had posted something about love … I can’t remember exactly what it was, but I remember commenting about how men suck, and then a guy commented after about how women can’t be trusted.  And then this friend commented back to both of us saying that we should talk and get to know one another because she thought we were both good people and we would get along.

 

I added him.  It took like three days before he accepted my friend request.  When he did, I got to being nosy and started looking through his pictures to see what he looked like. And I liked what I saw.  Cute, sexy white boy, over six feet tall, dressed like he was from California … in the 90’s. Long white tees, Dickies, and Nike Cortez.   Which is totally hot.  Later that night, he posted on Facebook that he was bored, and asked for someone to text or call him.  So I commented that I will.  And that started the whole rest of my wonderful life.

 

We connected from the very first text message.  After a half hour, he called me.   That first night that we spoke to one another, he had told me that he knew that I would be his, and we would be together.  I felt it too, but a small part of me wondered how that would be possible. Plus, I was thinking, dang he is arrogant as hell… Just kidding.  True, I was about to move to Denver, but still … he lived in Tennessee. So what are the chances we would actually meet each other in person??

 

Well, it did happen.  Obviously, or else I wouldn’t even be writing this in the first place.  Did I ever mention I can be a smart ass? Don’t matter because that isn’t the point of the story anyway.  I just wanted to point that out.  LOL.

 

So what happened next? I will let you know … tomorrow.  P.S.   He isn’t allowed to read this until we get married, which will be later this year.  Stay tuned!

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment